Expiration of the Criminal Protective Order

I spent hours on the phone today with the courts in the state we were relocated from. The children were told last week that we are enrolled in state witness protection and they took it well, with very little in the way of questions. Now that they know I felt I could finally pick up the phone while they were home (as they have been since February of 2020) and work on keeping us safe without fears of them overhearing what they should not. The family court and the criminal court passed me back and forth a few times and I learned I will not be getting an extension of the existing order, nor will I be filing a family court order either. The reasoning is thus: criminal protective orders are not extendable. Family court orders must be served. The perpetrator’s location is not officially known to me. I could publish the order, instead. If I were to publish the order, my new name and his name would be publicly linked and I would lose my cover. I have about a year left of the criminal protective order and then I will be reliant on my new state’s witness protection and my own wits. It could be worse.

I have been observing his public data for years. He went to my ancestral state for a bit before arriving here. He holds two addresses here, one close to me and one a few hours away. He has replaced us with other children and of course his mistress who he has kept all this time. I never find her public records, so I assume she is out of status. Next year this time is when he swore he would come after me and I am ready. I have never been in better shape, I have some money in the bank, my house is built very well to deter intruders and is impossible to case adequately. My middle child put up a security system for me two weeks ago and it works well. I walk the streets here twice a day with my tiny ridiculous dog and people are getting to know me. I have a casefile started with the local DV shelter and it is located less than a mile from my house. This summer when we are all vaccinated we will begin learning shaolin kung fu. His brush with Zurkaneh was a long time ago and I am very confident. There is no possibility he would be expecting what I am now.

I will make one more call tomorrow to the local DV legal and then I will leave the order to expire. I got this.

Leave a comment