International Women´s Day

The last official release I wrote for International Women´s Day on behalf of my ex took me two hours to get down into Word.

My children were sleeping, I wrote it during their nap.

My ex dictated the gist of it to me. I would write a bit and he would read it and then he would scream at me and slap my head until I made it more to his liking.

I was so angry (not that I could show it) that I switched gears halfway through the process and somehow convinced him to let me write the rest of the press release about how empowering women begins at home.

It is the worst official statement I ever wrote.

I was exhausted, as I always was at eight months pregnant.

I hate International Women´s Day. I hate it. I hope it does someone some good, somewhere. I never felt that it made much difference.

 

Leave a Reply

