About Your Father..

So my stepmother took me aside today and told me my father is losing his memory, showing signs of confusion. Classic dementia stuff. She is becoming concerned about his erratic driving.

She is going to talk to his doctor.

But the real kicker is that she said he is becoming mean, blaming her for his issues, and getting short with her. Maybe he does not understand why she is questioning him or advising him. No one has told him his behaviour is becoming weird. He has always seemed mean, irritable, and short to me. I suppose I ought to be grateful that she never noticed before now.

She is the best thing that ever happened to him. No one else can handle him so well. I don’t know what I will do if she needs to step back. She is older than he is.

I wish she had already told my brother. I want to talk to him about it.

Leave a Reply

