Books You Read Over and Over

I have three books (okay, one is a series of books) that I read over and over throughout my life. I read all of them for the first time between the ages of nine and eleven. I assure that I do read other books, but these are the repeats that I consciously replace every time I lose one, because I will be reading them again.
The first is the Dune Series, by the elder Herbert. The second is Shogun, of Clavell. The third is The Source, by Michener.
How about you? Do you have a book you read every five years or so throughout your life? I am curious as to what it would be.

5 thoughts on “Books You Read Over and Over

  1. 1) Pride & Prejudice, by the incomparable Miss Austen (Have been periodically rereading this since high school.)
    2) Paladin of Souls, by Lois McMaster Bujold (I reread her Vorkosigan saga books for many years as well. This is the one that still endures: a dowager queen, who has been sequestered in a small provincial city for some 20 yrs. because people thought she was mad. When, in fact, she was under a divine curse, of sorts, which is lifted at the end of the first book in the series. Our middle-aged heroine decides to ran way on a little adventure — and finds herself at the middle of a crisis that threatens the whole world. 🙂 )

  2. Ah, Austen. I have read her works a few times over. Probably not enough to put on the list, just yet! Now I want to read your second entry. The name is very familiar, I am sure I have read something by her before.

    • She writes SciFi/Fantasy — which, to be honest, I never read. Other than her stuff.
      My brother, whom I love very much but who is the *most* challenging person I have ever met to communicate with, is happiest just trading favorite quotes from books, movies, etc. I began reading Bujold’s books after several years of listening to him recap the plots, all in great detail, so that I could participate more in those “conversations.” And then I really liked them!

Leave a Reply

