Failed Dinners

Sometimes, the food you get is expired, and not just by date. Sometimes there is a reason it was donated. Some of it is so mass produced by the lowest bidder that it tastes like chemicals and not like food at all.
You put time into it, making dinner. You have bought the accessories to flesh it out, make it a meal. But every once in a while it is not enough. Especially when I am learning about meat. I have no idea if it is palatable or not.
Today is one of those nights. The kids know it happens once in a while, usually with ground meats. But watching each child excuse themselves with their food tasted but uneaten and knowing you have wasted the condiments and flavorings and the bread surrounding the meat is hard. Really hard.
It makes me feel like crying, initially. The kids have agreed that when they get hungry they will help me get something together, so that I do not spend all night in the kitchen.
Weekends are exhausting. I work much harder at home than I do at my weeklong job.
I still have more to do.

Leave a Reply

